Guest blogging for ASM’s Small Things Considered

 

I was asked a while ago to be a guest blogger under Moselio “Elio” Schaechter for his Small Things Considered blog.  I decided to write about some fascinating extremophiles (halophiles) that undergo an extreme physiological change upon finding a certain environment.  

Take a peek at my blog post over here and check out the remainder of the site while you’re at it.

It was a fun experimental post and they asked me to keep an eye open for other topics of interest.  These posts are more work than you would imagine, and I thank my PI Gemma Reguera for all of her help and guidance in making the post.

The research I did for this post seemed (at the time) to be frivolous, but actually led to some engrossing conversations at the Archaea conference (GRC) I attended in Italy in August.  So here’s some advice, all knowledge you obtain will be helpful at some point in your life.  The reason most of us are in graduate school is because we like random knowledge, so keep seeking it out.  You never know when it will help you.

 

2 thoughts on “Guest blogging for ASM’s Small Things Considered

Leave a Reply

